No self help

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
dementeddigital

No self help

Postby dementeddigital » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:20 am

Hi everyone. I'm Dan in FL.

I'm struggling with the realization of no-self.

I started meditating in Nov 2011, during my divorce. Samatha first to stabilize and then on to Vipassana to try to gain some insight about the ultimate nature of things. I've looked at self, and I know what it's not. It's not parts of body or whole body, it's not mind - it's completely un-findable. I know this completely, and yet, I wouldn't say that I've experienced it. I"m not sure what I would experience it if I did. I'm an engineer, and I have a tendency to conceptualize things more than I should.

I've been online dating, and I also struggle with attachment. (I think that the realization of no self might help me here, if there is no self to get attached.) I get "hooked" easily, and my mind gets focused on future possibilities, which brings with it anxiety and attachment. Ekhart Tolle's The Power of Now has helped me recognize how this happens, and I can watch it arise. I have had the realization that the mind is not me, and that it's just a problem solving tool. But that still doesn't tell me what no-self actually is or realize it myself.

I'd love some help to get un-stuck! I don't necessarily know what to ask for, but I think that leaving it open might be better anyway. :-)

Cam-RT

Re: No self help

Postby Cam-RT » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:42 am

Hello Dan...

Now there's one rule...That when we ask you questions, please answer when ready,  with complete honesty, precisely, and what you "feel" is 100% true...