Finding no one

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Sashin

Finding no one

Postby Sashin » Fri Sep 02, 2016 9:06 am

What brings you to Liberation Unleashed?:
I have been meditating for a few years now, and I have consumed multiple books, articles, videos and talks about spirituality, meditation, consciousness and non duality. I already fully accept that the self is an illusion at the intellectual level. I am unsure if I have realised it at the experiential level, there are still some lingering doubts. The most transformative book I've read on the subject is Waking up by Sam Harris, and one line that strikes me as particularly interesting is:

"I came yearning for self transcendence, and in a few minutes he showed me I had no self to transcend".

This seems to imply that ordinary consciousness as is, is already free of self. Am I already experiencing selflessness or is there more to it? Why do I still have this feeling like there is something more I need. Is it possible I'm just not looking correctly. I have read the Teachings of Ramana Maharshi and have practised Self Enquiry quite a lot. No matter how hard I try, no matter where I look I still to this day cannot find an ego or a sense of self. Why do I still feel like looking? Why doesn't my search feel conclusive?

I come to Liberation Unleashed in the hope I can understand the experience of self transcendence if there is such an experience at all. Is it something I haven't yet experienced because I haven't been looking right? Or have I already been experiencing it without realising or acknowledging it?

What are you looking for? What do you expect from this?: