Blackbirds thread

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
blackbird

Blackbirds thread

Postby blackbird » Mon Oct 12, 2015 3:53 am

What brings you to Liberation Unleashed?:
Friends have recommended Liberation Unleashed as a way to see through the illusion of a fixed unchanging self.

What is your background in terms of seeking and inquiry?:
I have been practicing in a Buddhist tradition for over 15 years. My interest in seeing through the illusion of a fixed self has become stronger in the past 4 years especially. I feel I do see this some times in moments/periods of insight but it doesn't last.

What do you expect of the conversation on this forum?:
To hopefully really see through the illusion of a fixed self and to get it in a way that I haven't managed to so far so that I can keep deepening my spiritual practice.

KevinD

Re: Blackbirds thread

Postby KevinD » Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:02 pm

Hi Blackbird,

You and I share a lot with the Buddhist upbringing.
If that would be ok with you, I would gladly be your guide.

Shall I call you Blackbird, or would you like to be addressed differently?
Also, what time zone are you in? It just helps me figure out best times to post and when to expect responses.

You and I will simply have a conversation, the aim of which will be for you to make the realisation that there is no 'self'. That will be our focus. I will tend to ask various questions and set you some exercises, but nobody will be judging you. You can't get this wrong.

This process is a guided inquiry where specific areas can be examined. I am not a teacher. This is YOUR inquiry. I will not be giving you new ideas and beliefs; only assisting you in examining and questioning the ones that you already have.