The Seeker seeks- Open invite for assitance

Welcome to the main forum. When you are ready to start a conversation, register and once your application is processed a guide will come to talk to you.
This is one-on-one style forum, one thread per green member.
Hopeful Seeker

The Seeker seeks- Open invite for assitance

Postby Hopeful Seeker » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:00 pm

Hello folks. I'll get the whole "What do you hope to gain" question taking care of in this post.

I am a novice meditation practitioner, who wants to supplement his path to enlightenment. I think this method could be a decent addition to the practices I'm already employing. At very least, I think direct pointing could help keep me stay on track, and offer some support, as I am currently stuck as an internet yogi. I think some kind of guided practice would be a benefit to my work. I don't expect any kind of cosmic bliss. I just think this might be a good way to strengthen the foundation of my practice.

vinceschubert

Re: The Seeker seeks- Open invite for assitance

Postby vinceschubert » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:37 pm

I just think this might be a good way to strengthen the foundation of my practice.
Ok Hopeful, here's a reality check.
Meditation is a wonderful tool (i have been doing Vipassana for a few years now) but it will very unlikely lead to enlightenment. (sorry) Keep doing it though as it has benefits. (maybe discuss this later)
This forum is about one thing which is not a spiritual path (although it may have spiritual consequences)
It is about seeing through the delusion/illusion/hallucination that a self actually exists.
It is not about knowledge or theory, it is about experiencing. Experiencing the true nature of 'you'
Tell me where is this thing you call I or Me ?
Can you locate it ?
What is it's relationship to thoughts (mind) ?
LOOK, don't reason. Observe.
please answer all questions.
Take your time, but it is good if you can post at least once a day.