Requesting a guide for Joel

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Joel

Requesting a guide for Joel

Postby Joel » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:28 pm

Found my way to Liberation Unleashed through a teacher at a mediation retreat who told me that there is a shortcut to the experience of no-self.
I've been seeking for answers about meaning and truth for about fifteen years, since adolescence. First within buddhism, then within western philosophy and psychology and also some transcendental mediation. And then back to buddhism for the past five years, mainly vipassana, and now for a couple of months within the tibetan tradition. In the vipassana I liked the focus on impermanence, and in the tibetan i learned about the importance of compassion and realising emptiness. It feels like I get stuck though - too often my knowledge becomes to intellectual and loosen the experiential. And even if I intellectually understands at least a bit of the concept of emptiness and no-self, the self keeps coming back and turn also this search to the playground of the ego. And also brings in a whole lot of doubt in this process.

What i'm looking for is someone who can help me out not to keep going down in the same traps over and over again. And hopefully guide me to letting of this sneaky ego.

Freddi

Re: Requesting a guide for Joel

Postby Freddi » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:42 pm

Hi Joel,

This is Fred from France. Very nice to meet you.

A few quick guidelines: look to post daily/regularly or post to say if a break is needed; and set aside any other spiritual practices during our inquiry together.

Also, our disclaimer and a short video too.

http://www.liberationunleashed.com/