Guide, Please?

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Aiyana

Guide, Please?

Postby Aiyana » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:15 am

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been studying “A Course in Miracles” for almost two years. I feel like I have an intellectual understanding of Reality versus Illusion, but not an experiential understanding.

I saw a Tony Parsons video a couple of weeks ago and it shook me up! I had believed for quite some time that life is not in my control, but my trust wasn’t deep enough to give up control all the time. I had seen how life (ACIM would say “The Holy Spirit) intervened in obvious ways during “big” events in my life. I was starting to see how something was guiding me even during the “smaller” moments. But I wasn’t applying that to every moment, every day.

Anyway, the video upset me at first. But I watched it again the next day and decided to try it out. I’m a teacher, and that morning at school I thought, “Teaching is happening”. All of a sudden there was no “me” there! There was no one to feel annoyed, frustrated, “not-good-enough”….It was liberating!

I want to wake up. I feel like I’m almost there. For a long time I’ve noticed that I feel blissful when I’m alone – especially during long drives – but feel more “guarded” around other people and don’t experience constant peace. Clearly I still believe there is a self there that needs to be protected.

A friend recommended Jed McKenna’s first book to me. I read it and it blew my mind. (My mind gets blown a lot.) Then I started reading “Gateless Gatecrashers”, which lead me here.

I’m also reading the “Enlightening Quotes” app.

I feel like I “get” it. But I don’t FEEL it. My understanding is intellectual. I am struggling with direct experience.