Ready to end the tyranny of the illusion

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
johnb

Ready to end the tyranny of the illusion

Postby johnb » Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:38 am

Hello LU guides,

I would like a guide to help see through the illusion of the separate self so it "sticks."

I have been involved in spiritual pursuits of many stripes for most of my adult life. Spent a good 14 years on the devotional path. About 4 years ago, after after the death of my wife to breast cancer and my own journey with cancer treatment, I desperately wanted to get my feet underneath me--find some sense of stability and wellbeing. I turned to nonduality as the most direct possibility of finding freedom from suffering. I studied with Neelam, Adyashanti, Scott Kiloby (got certified as a Living Inquiries facilitators), Rupert Spira, and have read through Nisargadatta's "I am That" a number of times. Other influences have been Douglas Harding's Headless Way and Richard Lang's furtherance of his pointing experiments, and numerous other teachers of nonduality. I have read the Gateless Gatecrashers and worked through the questions on Ilona's "Start Here" blog page.