Looking for a guide

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
jido

Looking for a guide

Postby jido » Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:45 pm

I have been practicing zen meditation for 20 years and am interested in the method that is being used to probe the question, '"who am I?" It may be helpful for me if I had a guide that is familiar with Zen practice.

Josephkoudelka

Re: Looking for a guide

Postby Josephkoudelka » Sun Aug 17, 2014 12:37 pm

Hi jido. I will guide you.

I practiced zen for more than twenty years. What school are you from? Rinzai, Soto, Sanbo Kyodan?

Also, it would be good to know what expectations you have? How do you think life will change when no self is clearly seen?

Best,

Joseph

jido

Postby jido » Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:02 pm

Hi Joseph,
Thanks for your willingness to be a guide. I am a student in the Korean Chogye School of Zen as taught through the lineage of Zen Master Seung Sahn and the Kwan Um School of Zen. It utilizes koans much like the Rinzai School of Zen as a method to bring students to experience for themselves the insights found in Buddhist teachings beginning with the illusion of a being a separate, permanent, and independent self and to live in the present moment in a way that benefits all beings.
I am looking to you to guide me through the process and method of inquiry used by Liberation Unleashed that appears from testimonials to have helped many individuals to experience the illusion of the sense of I, me, my that most of us have created since childhood.
Thanking you in advance,
Greg

Josephkoudelka

Postby Josephkoudelka » Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:13 pm