looking for a guide

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
pop

looking for a guide

Postby pop » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:14 pm

I've been practicing for 6 years and would like to break the fetter of fixed self.

Xain

Re: looking for a guide

Postby Xain » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:21 pm

Hi Pop

I may be willing to guide you.
What sort of practising have you been doing?
Tell me a little more about your desire for this experience.

Xain ♥

pop

Postby pop » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:36 pm

Ok Xain thanks for the reply,

So i started meditating 6 years ago.
The mindfulness of breathing and metta bhavana.
I went on short retreats immediately and kept a very regular daily practice.
I lengthened the retreats over time to a week then two and have now done 2 retreats of a month in silence.
Alongside this i practice puja regularly. I live in a community of buddhists and follow the 5 precepts.
I would go on 6 weeks of retreats a year and various weekend retreats.
I study the Dharma weekly. I'm part of an active sangha.

The desire for this experience comes from a realisation over the years that the Buddha's path does seem to do as it says. The more i engaged the more real the teachings became.
I have had experiences in meditation which may hint at what a non dual reality is like.
Also continous positive mental states have been very enjoyable when they arise.

On another level i felt that my life was lacking something.
The career and family life just don't feel enough.
I've given up my career and moved away from my birth place to focus on seeing the truth of non-self.
I work a menial job, happily.
I've no regrets and i'm committed to this life now.
I've no responsibilities so i seek out of adventure too.