A remarkably ordinary experience

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Singhashri

A remarkably ordinary experience

Postby Singhashri » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:43 pm

I have been practicing Buddhism for 13 years. Recently on a retreat, I had a very strong experience of non-separateness. I was looking into another woman’s eyes and was suddenly aware of the absence of a sense of a separate self. There was nothing that I could distinguish as me in the experience. There was simply a connection between us. I found that I could look into her eyes without any sense that there was a me and a her out there as separate from me. I could hold her gaze without any sense of self-consciousness. Simultaneously, there was a feeling that I could not distinguish as mine. I intuited this feeling to be related to what she was communicating to me, an empathic response conditioned by the non-separateness. Somehow, awakening into that connection, I was immediately able to empathize without any effort. As remarkable as it seemed, the experience was also quite ordinary. I simply saw quite clearly that there was no boundary between myself and others, where once I believed there was. Since this experience I have found that I am able to be much more present with myself and others.