For Perrym Getting started

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Amara G

For Perrym Getting started

Postby Amara G » Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:15 pm

Hi P,
Thanks for agreeing to guide me! Deejay sent me your email and I'm keen to get started. Have read the disclaimer and will proceed to introduce self.
I've been meditating for 25 years. A homeopath once told me it was probably a life saver as I really needed to find my inner life. Felt pretty grounded in samatta practises but did not have much guidance to go through into insight practises. Spent a few years studying with a dzogchen teacher which was good.

Then I read Daniel Ingrams book and found myself believing it was possible to gain insight. Last year I focused on being able to regularly and reliably experience dhyana which I did. Then I started wondering which insight practise to choose. Meanwhile last year I also spent 10 days on retreat with Byron Katie. I love her work and this has become my insight practise. I write most mornings and uncover beliefs that I take to Inquiry. Almost always I get 'seeing through' experiences (on a micro scale) and a sense of freedom when a belief 'my children hate me...' turns into something that becomes a source of amusement and lightness.