I would like a guide please

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Sheaster

I would like a guide please

Postby Sheaster » Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:56 pm

Hi, I would like someone to act as a guide for me.

I am really excited at the prospect of seeing through the illusion of separate selfhood. I am not sure why this it. Maybe it is because I think this delusion leads to some of subtle low level suffering that I experience.

I’ve been meditating for about 8 years within the Triratna Buddhist Community in the UK. I have benefitted significantly from my practice, and hopefully those around me have too. I have an intellectual understanding that there is ‘no self’, but still feel as though I do exist as a separate entity with some measure of free will. My practice change significantly earlier this year after reading Daniel Ingram’s Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha and listening to Kenneth Folk. More recently a friend told me about the LU approach, and several friends have been through the one to one guided process. I have been using the App in the last few days, which I think is great, and have been reflecting on my direct experience, and am starting to see through the illusion of a separate self. Or at least be more open to the possibility that is a delusion. I now feel that I have enough time to commit to one to one guidance, but realise that many people will be busy this time of year.

I look forward to hearing from a guide. Many thanks, Mark

ray

Re: I would like a guide please

Postby ray » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:28 pm

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the nice introduction and welcome to the forum.