Keen to REALLY see the truth and would be very grateful for

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Nick D

Keen to REALLY see the truth and would be very grateful for

Postby Nick D » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:55 pm

I would be very grateful if anyone can offer guidance that will help bring about a genuine revelation of the truth of anatta/no self.

I have been practicing Buddhist meditation for many years and I’ve also been reading ‘non-duality’ texts by a wide range of authors for many years too. I have also read a good deal of Ilhona’s Gateless Gatecrashers and I find those dialogues have a ring of authenticity about them– which is very reassuring given that I have my doubts about some authors who claim to have seen through the self (it seems all too easy to articulate the theory of it but quite another thing to have really seen it).

The notion that there is no one typing these words, or doing anything in fact that I label/interpret as being done by a ‘me’ . . . this notion feels very convincing. Equally, the notion that what is taken to be ‘me’ is actually, rather, impersonal ‘Beingness’ /‘Cognizing emptiness’ / “the touch of ‘I am’ness” /‘Openness Sensitivity & Clarity’ /‘the field of Now’, /‘Presence Awareness’/Open Space, or ‘Awareness Itself’ (to name a few pointers that authors have used) very much has the ring of truth too it also and chimes within ‘me’ very deeply.

I also even find the notion that even ‘my’ failings, all my lapses in ethics, and the ‘wandering mind’ in meditation, and craving and aversion etc etc also are not ‘me or mine’ either.