Where am I?

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Dep826

Where am I?

Postby Dep826 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:31 am

LU is focused guiding for seeing there is no real, inherent 'self' - what do you understand by this?
This means that we feel identical with our thoughts instead of the world around us. By observing our thoughts (looking for the self) we can create a gap in which thoughts stop. When thoughts stop, we begin to live in the immediate moment and feel complete liberation from the sense of self.

What are you looking for at LU?
I've been practicing Dzogchen on a moment-by-moment basis for the last two years and it's completely changed my life! From the first moment I was taught the technique of looking for the 'self' I was hooked. After practicing vipassana for years and suddenly being shown Dzogchen i immediately recognized its significance because it allowed me to occupy an entirely different space, and that space felt effortless. The first moment I discovered Dzochen I must have meditated for approximately 8 hours (the most relaxing 8 hours of my life). At the end of those 8 hours I went to bed and when I was on the verge of falling asleep I felt a shift in consciousness and for some reason my mind was throwing out the word "history". It felt like the events of the past accumulated in the room that I was sleeping in (if you could explain this to me that would be great!). I continued to use this meditation technique for the next two years but I haven't sat down and meditated as long as i had in the beginning simply because the technique of looking for the self was satisfying enough. However, I'm looking to advance further and seek liberation from the self which I have not experienced yet. I felt that I hav