Lost again, striving again

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Matthew

Lost again, striving again

Postby Matthew » Sun May 07, 2017 3:01 pm

LU is focused guiding for seeing there is no real, inherent 'self' - what do you understand by this?
I understand by this on a conceptual level already a lot. I studied madhyamaka- and dzogchen-view under the guidance of Alan Wallace and others, read numerous books, countless articles and recieved a lot of information through videos on the internet. I am deeply engaged in buddhism and the idea of no-self is in my mind since the start.

What are you looking for at LU?
I am looking for a guide who can give me direct pointings dependend on the specific conditions and obscurations that are here to be found. That is what I am looking for at LU. The "General pointings" I will read in addition via your App.

What do you expect from a guided conversation?
I expect nothing! Really. But since this form requires at least 200 characters...
I expect at least to meet someone who had a genuine insight into the absence of a self. What I am not expecting is results, not even speaking of "quick results". I am willing to engage in a longer term conversation on the basis of patience.

What is your experience in terms of spiritual practices, seeking and inquiry?
I practice shamatha and vipassana both guided and in private since 2 years. The latest most important thing that I have learned is that all practice, all striving is pointless when it is carried out on the basis of an "I".
Last night I had an experience. It was like one of your guides said in a video "recognizing something completely obvious".