Circling This Idea

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
grape

Circling This Idea

Postby grape » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:04 am

LU is focused guiding for seeing there is no real, inherent 'self' - what do you understand by this?
I see it as the idea that there is no "me"--that me is a social construct, something created to interact with the world. This idea makes sense to me, and per the title of this thread, I've been circling this notion for two years now.

What are you looking for at LU?
I'm looking to see for myself if there is no I. Whatever the truth is, that's what I'm after. Whenever I start considering the idea of no-self, I sometimes feel a tinge of fear. What happens to my daughters and grandchildren if there's no "me"? If there's truly no me, I want to know, but not on a purely intellectual level. I can sometimes grasp it on an intellectual level, but I don't "feel" it in my heart. I hope that makes sense.

What do you expect from a guided conversation?
I hope someone can point me in the right direction to discover for myself what is true. I've read many books, watched many Youtube videos, and spent hours in meditation, and haven't made it yet. I'm not bored, angry, helpless, depressed or frightened. My life is actually pretty good. There's something else though, something deeper about life that I'm missing. Maybe what I need is someone to personally "push" me over the obstacles I keep encountering. There's no-one in my life--not friends or family or co-workers--that I can discuss this with.

What is your experience in terms of spiritual practices, seeking and inquiry?