Happy 2013! Would be deeply grateful for a guide!

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
Critterfan

Happy 2013! Would be deeply grateful for a guide!

Postby Critterfan » Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:34 pm

I hope the following is not over-sharing, but I notice that most applicants are asked for some background:

I’m male, 63, fortunate in a happy life/marriage/parenthood/retirement. The happiness is relative of course, but won after long struggles both abstract and material. I have studied Buddhism (and Advaita) since I was a college student (from Alan Watts to Hubert Benoit to Huang Po and other original Mahayana and Theravada translations, but also the new consciousness sciences). I have meditated a lot, especially now that I’ve retired, and gone on the very occasional short retreat.

My inclinations are toward Zen and Theravada. I feel I have been as far as 4th jhana, with an occasional but very convincing transit through 5th to 6th jhana, which seems to be related to Ramana’s “Witness/I AM” position. I’ve also been in some nasty Dark Night neighborhoods, but each cycle, the baseline becomes a little gentler. Ironically, the more attenuated the suffering, the more precisely it bugs me. I guess my standards get higher, but “I crave” to move on!!! ;)