Looking For Guidance

Welcome to the main forum. When you are ready to start a conversation, register and once your application is processed a guide will come to talk to you.
This is one-on-one style forum, one thread per green member.
PepperAlmond

Looking For Guidance

Postby PepperAlmond » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:39 am

LU is focused guiding for seeing there is no real, inherent 'self' - what do you understand by this?
Intellectually, I know that "I" am just a story, a fiction. "I" am a very intense belief that I have been believing (I don't know how) ever since I was a child. In reality, there is no me. There's just sensory experience happening (sights, sounds, feelings, thoughts). I haven't had a direct experience of this.

What are you looking for at LU?
I'm looking to see the truth, which, I've heard, might set me free. :) I'm looking for help on this path of looking. I'm a former philosophy student so I've always been interested in the truth. Recently, I've been feeling lost on my spiritual journey. I feel like I don't know who I am and what I should be doing in this life. I feel like I have a mission here but I just don't know what it is. I want to help the world, but something is keeping me stuck. I've heard that seeing the truth of no-self can really help with this. So those are my two main objectives.

What do you expect from a guided conversation?
I expect that the conversation will point me in the direction of the direct experience of no-self. I hope to find out what I have been doing wrong so far. I don't expect but I really hope that this could be the place and time for me to see through the illusion of the self. I expect that I will have to do 99% of the work, which will require intense consentration and looking at my direct experience. If I may say so, I also hope that the guide is kind and patient with me. :) I'm quite fluent in English, but it is not my first language. Some misunderstandings might therefore happen.